New Year’s Resolution Run

Choose between a half marathon on a mix of forestry trails and single track with spectacular views of Canberra and surrounds, or a 12 km course with 8 km of continuous single track in the native forest. The half marathon course provides 680 metres of elevation, including an ascent of the formidable Mt Amungula, while the 12 km includes over 320 metres of climb.

The Course

Starting and finishing at the Wamboin Community Hall, runners will head out and back along Bingley Way (sealed bitumen) for 1.3 km before entering Kowen Forest.
The half marathon consists of mostly dirt forestry trails with three sections of single track totalling 2.5 km, while the 12 km course comprises of 8km of continuous single track in native forest.

Mandatory Gear

All participants must carry the following mandatory gear for safety reasons. Everyone will participate in a mandatory gear check on the day, before they can collect their race number:

  • Water Container
  • Mobile Phone (with the race directors number saved)
  • Snake bandage (compression bandage)

If an entrant does not have any of these mandatory gear items unfortunately, they will not be allowed to start the race for their own safety. It is the responsibility of the participant to ensure they have all the required gear at the event.

New Year’s Resolution Run 2024

Date: Sunday 21  January 2024

Location: Wamboin Community Hall, 112 Bingley Way, Wamboin, NSW

Entries will open late 2023

Event Program

5:30am Registration/Gear check opens
6:10am Pre-race briefing – 21.1km
6:30am 21.2km half marathon start
7:10am Pre-race briefing – 12km
7:30am 12km trail run start
9:30am Presentations

Cut off times:

Half marathon – 4.5 hours

12km – 4.5 hours



Race Records

Half Marathon Male – Adrian McLean (2021) 1:31:18
Female – Elizabeth Humphries (2019) 1:49:48
12km Male – Matthew Crane (2019) 0:50:26
Female – Bernie Connors (2021) 1:02:52
Past Race Results